13 March 2015

Opus International Consultants (Opus) received two honours at the Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand (IPENZ) Fellows and Achievers Dinner held at Te Papa, Wellington on Friday 13 March 2015.

The Freyssinet Award/Supreme Technical Award was awarded to Robert Davey, Technical Principal (Earthquake Engineering).

Robert is a well-known figure in the national and international earthquake engineering arena for his innovative designs and development of mitigation initiatives. His work in the Regional Earthquake Damage and Casualty Assessment study for Wellington Regional Council in 1995 is widely drawn upon and he played a key role in restoring telecommunications throughout the South Island in the aftermath of the Canterbury earthquakes.  He has been the recipient of three ACENZ Innovation Awards for excellence in building design and seismic assessment projects.

Carl Ashby, Workgroup Manager, Structural Engineering was elected as a fellow of IPENZ for his significant contribution to the advancement of Structural Engineering in New Zealand.

Carl is a well-respected knowledge leader in structural engineering.  He has taken a lead role in advancing and promoting best practice by serving on many technical societies’ management committees, including the Structural Engineering Society New Zealand, the New Zealand Society for Earthquake Engineering, and the New Zealand Concrete Society.  His experience in projects ranging from multi-storey buildings to residential and civil structures resulted in him participating in the review of the Building Act and the revision of concrete standards following the Canterbury earthquakes.

“These highly contestable awards are only given to the best and brightest in New Zealand engineering.  Robert and Carl should be proud of their achievements, the contribution they have made to engineering, and the amazing insight they bring to our work every day,” says Opus Chief Executive, Dr David Prentice.

The Fellows and Achievers Dinner is held to recognise IPENZ Members' technical achievements, contribution to the advancement of the profession, and commitment to the Institution.